Dancing Shrimp on My Face

29 Apr

This post is a long time coming.  I have been shrimp crazy since around January.  Lately, there have been awesome sales on jumbo babies and smaller guys alike.  I’ve been trying to get more into seafood cuisine and have found our local fish guy has taken a liking to me.  When I ask for a denomination of shrimp, he always throws a few extra huge guys in there for me.  Wink.  Thanks fish guy.

When I’m feeling lazy, I just warm some olive oil in a pan and add some rosemary to infuse.  I let that cool and toss my shrimp in it and then grill them quickly.  I am always happy with how this comes out and it always tastes great.  Sometimes I even add some crushed red pepper for some heat.

But a while back, way way back in January before I started getting crazy sick, I finally went for a recipe I had my hands on.  This was my week of shrimp and I was terrified of overdoing it, but of course that didn’t stop me.  So upwards and onwards to Stuffed Shrimp.

This was a recipe I found on foodpress.com from “Can You Stay For Dinner”‘s blog.  And it is definitely worth reposting because it’s easy, gorgeous, and delicious.  I love it when effortless food looks fantastic on its own.  So this recipe would obviously make the perfect appetizer, which was my intention all along, but never got there.  Instead I greedily made them for myself and I feasted all week!

Actually I’m just going to link you to the recipe on her blog, as it’s not mine to post.  And this frees me up to straight up talk about it.

So basically for this, you’re stuffing shrimp with shrimp which I find kind of hilarious.  And genius.  I bought the large guys instead of the jumbo guys, and mine turned out just fine.  In retrospect, I could have easily gotten just the large shrimp to be stuffed and smaller cheaper shrimp to chop up, but it’s all relative.  What I did realize, was that I shouldn’t have started shelling the shrimp before looking at them.  I had accidentally left some really pathetic looking ones to be stuffed.  Always keep presentation in the back of your head!

I left the tips on those to be stuffed and started chopping the others for the filling.  The rest is super easy.  You’re combining fresh parsley, crushed red, garlic, sour cream, and lemon juice.  I decided to use panko for the bread portion of the stuffing because, well, it’s just fantastic in everything.  Get her hands all up in there and mix until you’ve got a large ball on your hands.  Really simple stuff.

Next you need to butterfly your reserved shrimp.  I’m not going to lie and say I didn’t reread the recipe over and over again studying the pictures to figure out how I was supposed to do this.  For some reason it just didn’t make sense to me until I gained some faith and jumped right in.  I’ll attempt to explain this.  Bare with me.  When holding the shrimp by its tail, you are cutting the outside of the curve and spreading that open to create a little seat for the shrimp.  You spread those legs and sit him down and then you have a perfect platter to add stuffing to.

So fill all the seats and put these darlings on a lined tray to be baked.  Preheat the oven to 425 degrees and bake them for about 15 minutes.  That’s it!  They’re big enough to eat with a knife and fork, which makes you feel all the more decadent.

It’s really simple, unique, and delicious.  I highly recommend making these to wow the pants of your friends or yourself for that matter!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

