The Mother of all Quiches: A Crustless Phenomenon

1 Feb

I’ve become very into breakfast.  For me, it was always about coffee and a smoke and I was good until lunch.  Since I’ve kicked the smokes, and become old enough to have an upset stomach from just plain coffee in the morning, I’ve decided to take better care of my body.

Each Sunday I plan a menu for the week, including breakfast I can bring to work each day.  There’s no way in hell I can get up early enough to eat breakfast at home.  I barely get to work on time each day.

Nothing makes me happier than a warm breakfast, usually where eggs are incorporated.  I already had a whole long entry about baked eggs and my love/ hate relationship with them.  I decided to just straight up get serious about these breakfast treats.  It was time to go Quiche all over the morning’s ass.

Don't you just want to shove your face into that?

The reason I always shied away from Quiches was because of the crust.  During the week I try to keep it healthy, and I know how much fatty stuff is in that delicious delicious crust.  The kind of stuff I’d rather not ingest every morning for the sake of extra calories I just don’t need.  After stumbling around foodpress every day of my life, I saw that someone created a crust out of potatoes and butter.  I gigantic light bulb exploded in my head and I was ready to experiment.

The first week I went for this it was a bit of a bland disaster.  This past week though, I seriously got this beast down to a science.  Also, as a side note, I’ve discovered the two things that will make any Quiche a taste sensation in your mouth: Sundried Tomatoes (in oil) and Goat Cheese.  Go ahead.  I DARE you to prove me wrong.

THE CRUST: Preheat your oven to 350

Forgive the lack of pictures, but I was really tired Sunday evening.  To begin, get a large potato and grate it.  I find that using just one large one is good enough.  You want to squeeze all the liquid out of it and set aside.  Next, slice half an onion and saute in some olive old with a touch of fresh garlic.  You just want to soften the onion.  When you get there, add the potato gratings and cook until everything is mixed.  Just a few minutes.  You want to be sure everything is coated in olive oil.  Find your favorite quiche plate or pie plate (which is what I use) and mash your onion/ potato shaving mix in.  Form a crust with it.  Toss that sucker into the oven and let cook until your onions start to get crispy.  You can full on let the whole thing get super crispy and crunchy if you’d like.  I keep it a little softer.

On to your egg mixture.  The beauty about Quiches is that you can put anything you want in there.  It’s always changing and you can always create a different taste.  This week I decided to go for a full out flavor explosion.  Below is the awesome that went into my Quiche:

Canadian Bacon, chopped

Half a small jar of Sundried Tomatoes, in oil

Spinach, sauteed with onions, garlic

Goat Cheese, full package

Yeah, it does sound too good.  And it is.  Honestly, I kind of just threw all of this together.  I put 6 eggs in a bowl and added a generous amount of milk and whipped together.  I added salt and pepper and then threw in all my ingredients.  I have a problem where my egg mixture is always way too much filling and there’s always a spill factor.  I don’t think I’ll ever learn, as I never want to decrease the amount of savory ingredients.

I poured it all on my makeshift crust and popped this madame in the oven.  I let her cook for 30 -40 minutes, basically until the spilled eggs on the edge of the plate browned and the middle wasn’t jiggly anymore.

Ahlglglgl

What I took out of the oven was a f*cking beast.  The expletive was necessary.  And I’ve been enjoying it each day this week so far.  It’s the perfect breakfast for me as I get warm eggs, cheese, delicious treats hidden inside, and crispy potatoes to boot.  It is an excellent breakfast on the go of all the things I dream of eating every day.  Now, I just need to figure out how to transport poached eggs.

Leave a comment